Spiritual-educational establishment Sherdor was constructed in line with the order of Yalangtush biy Bahadur, who ruled Samarkand in the 17th century. Initially, it was named after him.
Sherdor Madrasah (Madrasah with Lions) earned its current name due to mosaic decoration on its main portal. An animal, which looks like a tiger with lion’s mane, hunts gazelle. The sun is rising behind the animal. This lion decorates national 200 soum banknotes.
Sherdor was less prestigious compared to Ulugbek Madrasah. However, it was popular due to high level of teaching. Despite the large size of the building, the madrasah could admit only about fifty people.
Ulugbek, Tilla Kari and Sherdor Madrasahs are part of a single architecture ensemble – Registan square. Sherdor was constructed based on the project of architect Abdulla Jabbar of Samarkand. Muhammad Abas carried out decoration and finishing works. Construction materials of dismantled Ulugbek khanaqa was used in constriction of Sherdor. It was built in 1424, but the building has strongly decayed by the 17th century.
Sherdor significantly was damaged in the result of frequent earthquakes. The minarets and main portal were deformed. The ornaments and decorations fell down.
Restoration works, started in 1924, were conducted in several stages. Now, Sherdor Madrasah became one of the beautiful samples of Islamic architecture.
Its facade was decorated with intricate geometric patterns, which are best viewed from afar.
Tympanum of the portal became popular to the world for its unique majolica mosaic. The minarets and drums of domes decorated with Arabic script as in theological institutions.