Arab Muhammad-khan Madrasah

Arab Muhammad-khan madrasah is one of the oldest buildings of Khiva. It is located near Muhammad Aminkhan Mosque in the center of Ichan-kala.

Arab Muhammad-khan was from the dynasty of Sheibanids and he moved the capital of Khorezm from Urgench to Khiva. In this connection, he ordered to build a madrasah for citizens in 1616. Initially, small spiritual educational establishment stood in its place. It was constructed by one famous woman in Khiva. Arab Muhammad purchased it with adjoining territories.

He had left the great mark in history of Khorezm. During his tenure in 1603-1621, Khiva became one of the most beautiful cities of Central Asia and could compete in beauty with Bukhara and Samarkand. He greatly improved the city and constructed large number of madrasahs and mosques. He also built secular buildings.

Architecture

The one-storey rectangular madrasah was built from bricks. According to the architectural tradition of that time, the quotes from Quran on the portal welcomed the students. Small corner minarets stood in the corners of the building. As in other Central Asian religious schools there were living rooms (hudjra) for students. There were also lecture hall – darshana and the mosque.

Over time madrasah walls dilapidated and became worthless, while interior crumbled. Therefore, it was rebuilt and restored several times. However, the madrasah was completed reconstructed in 1838 within the order of Alla Kuli-khan. In the result, it received the architectural forms and traditions of later epoch.

The second floor was constructed. Number of hudjras and classrooms increased. The entry portal was partially redesigned. The building reached our times in updated appearance.

Today, Arab Muhammad-khan Madrasah is one of the most interesting and beautiful places of Khiva.

Выберите язык

O'zbek Русский English

Или скайчате приложение

Медресе Араб Мухаммад-хана

Медресе Араб Мухаммад-хана является одним старейших сооружений Хивы. Оно стоит по соседству с медресе Мухаммада Аминхана в центре Ичан-калы.

Араб-Мухаммад-хан из династии Шейбанидов перенес столицу Хорезмского государства из Ургенча в Хиву. По этому поводу в 1616 году он распорядился возвести медресе для горожан. Изначально на его месте стояло другое небольшое духовное училище. Примечательно, что его построила некая известная в Хиве женщина. Араб-Мухаммад купил его со всеми прилегающими по соседству участками.

Правитель оставил большой след в истории Хорезма. За время его власти в 1603-1621 гг. Хива стала одним из самых прекрасных городов Центральной Азии и могла состязаться в красоте с Бухарой и Самаркандом. Он значительно благоустроил город, возвел многочисленные медресе и мечети. А также не забывал и про светские сооружения.

Архитектура

Одноэтажное прямоугольное медресе построили из кирпича. Согласно архитектурной традиции того времени, на портальном входе студентов встречала цитата из Корана. По бокам стояли небольшие угловые минареты. Как и в других среднеазиатских духовных училищах в нем имелись жилые комнаты (худжра) для учеников. Помимо лекционного зала – дарсханы, в его стенах действовала своя мечеть.

Со временем стены медресе ветшали и приходили в негодность, внутренняя отделка осыпалась. Поэтому его несколько раз перестраивали и реставрировали. Однако в 1838 году по приказу Аллакулихана медресе полностью переделали. В результате оно получило формы и традиции уже более поздней архитектуры Хивы.

Надстроили второй этаж, увеличили количество худжр и классных комнат. Частично переделали входной портал. Именно в обновленном виде оно и дошло до нас.

Сегодня медресе Араб Мухаммад-хана является одним из самых интересных и красивых мест Хивы.

Выберите язык

O'zbek Русский English

Или скайчате приложение